Introductions to Daejeon

The South Korean city of Daejeon is located in the central region of the country surrounded by a number of mountains and the Gyeryongsan Natiional Park. Three streams run through the city from South to North eventually meeting up with the Geum River.

The city comprises a population of more than 1.5 million residents whom enjoy a climate ranging between being humid subtropical and humid continental spread over four seasons, often influenced by monsoon weather.

Daejeon is a major focus point for transport routes, with the Korean capital of Seoul being about 50 minutes away by high speed train. The city is recognized as the Administration Center of the National Government Complex and is the home of twelve National Government Offices such as the National Statistics Office, The Korean Customs Service, and the Public Procurement Service to name but a few.

The city has a large number of educational institutions and is often referred to as ‘The Silicone Valley of Asia’ or ‘High Technology City’ with the Daedeok Innopolis Research and Development facility consisting of 28 state operated research centers, and almost 80 private research centers providing employment for about 20,000 researchers in several scientific fields.

Daejeon created the World Technopolis Association (WTA) in 1998 which currently has 67 members representing 32 countries and actively works with UNESCO which acts as its main consultative body.

Social Media