Introductions to Tacna

If you have spent much of your vacation time in Peru exploring such cities as Cisco, Huancayo, Chimboto, and Pucallpa, then you may like to travel to the southern part of the country and visit the city of Tacna near the border with Chile.

Today the city of Tacna is the capital of Peru’s most southerly region also referred to as Tacna. If correctly translated, the name Tacna represents in the early Quechua language of the region ‘a place to hit’ which it is thought to have originated from the submission of the Aymara native people by the Quechuans many centuries ago.

The entire Tacna region has boundaries to the west (The Pacific Ocean), to the north (The Moquequa Region), to the north east ( The Puno Region), to the east (The Bolivia La Paz Region), and to the south, the border between Peru and Chile referred to as La Linea de la Concordia.

Despite Tacna having a relatively mild desert type of climate and sunshine through most of the year, the Titicaca plateau is home to various geographical features including desert environments, volcanoes, and mountainous ridges.

As is the case with many Peruvian cities their history can be traced back to ancient times, and much archeological evidence dates Tacna back to the Stone Age as witnessed by the Toquepala Caves and other sites.

The region came under the subjugation of Spain in 1535 but by following the example set by Argentine Tacna gained independence many years later in 1828 with the city of Tacna being awarded the title of Ciudad Heroica by the then serving President of the country.

Today the southern region of Tacna is divided into four discreet provinces, Candarave, Jorge Basadre, Tacna, and Tarata, but in recent times has had a political dispute with neighboring Chile relating to Maritime boundaries.

Social Media